Eileen Cowin

February 17, 2011 § Leave a comment

During a critique yesterday, my professor suggested I take a look at Eileen Cowin.  She has been making art since the 1970’s and is still creating. Her statement below is taken from her website:

Eileen Cowin Artist Statement 2004

Neal Gabler wrote an article in the LA Times about how we were losing our narratives- he said the 19th century was about order and logic but the 20th century was about fragmentation, dislocation and a sense that man was not progressing but he was lurching aimlessly.

Using this idea of fragmentation, I am interested in the nature of narrative and the relationship between fiction and non-fiction. I am investigating ideas about chance, fate, memory and experience.

So many aspects of her work appeal to me and the direction I want to go with my work, especially ideas of perception, narrative and relationships; Relationships between people as well as ideas, such as real and unreal.

I’ve selected these images from her Family Docudrama series…

…and this is a lecture she gave at Pasadena City College during her residency there.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Eileen Cowin at R. L. K..

meta